top of page

5 Songs That Make Me REALLY Feel. Just Feel.

Everyone has that one or two songs that can boost your mood just from hearing the first few chords. There are some songs that you can really just feel. Here are my top 5 songs that I just feel.


I have playlists on my phone that are sorted based on what my mood would be while listening to them. I have a happy playlist, a sad playlist, a hype playlist, a nostalgist playlist. The list goes on (pun intended). With each playlist, I usually end up skipping through the shuffled songs until I get to that one song that I actually wanted to hear straight away.

In this list I'll include one song from my top 5 playlists, each of those songs beings the ones that I can picture myself acting out somehow in a movie; maybe in an epic fight scene, or maybe on the train on a rainy day after I've been forced to leave my true love behind. #happy_songs #feelings #good_music


I would like to note that although it isn't included in this list, Africa by Toto will forever be a fantastic choice. It truly is the perfect song. Nothing can ever top it for me. It's my highest score whenever I go to karaoke with my friends.


“I think of what the world could be A vision of the one I see A million dreams is all it's gonna take Oh, a million dreams for the world we're gonna make” -P!nk, A Million Dreams

My top 5 playlists that I've picked songs from are:

Happy sh*t - cheery, uplifting type of songs.

Hype sh*t - The stuff that really gets you going, good for a workout.

Nostalgic sh*t - stare out your window and pretend you're in a music video.

Singing sh*t - When you're driving by yourself and you're really ready to hit that high note.

50s sh*t - Arguably the best decade for music. All about love.

Please excuse the pattern to be found in the playlist titles, it just kind of happened.


Happy


My pick for the song off of my happy playlist is You're the Voice by John Farnham.

I discovered this power-ballad while watching a behind the scenes clip of the show Merlin. The cast's epic lip-syncing really boosted the moral and playfulness on set.

The song itself is truly one to get motivated with. The lyrics are uplifting, and a lengthy bagpipe solo during the bridge is sure to get your foot stomping.



"This time, You know we all can stand together With the power to be powerful Believing that we can make it better" - John Farnham, You're the Voice

Hype


The pick for my favourite song to get pumped up is Grown by Little Mix. The girlband is a collection of some of my favourite female vocalists. Perrie Edwards' high note towards the end of the songs really gets me, right in the chest.

A wicked drop after the chorus and the always impressive vocals from the band's members, the song is one that I think is really empowering. Someone who has been through some sort of relationship before going through a period of growth and realising their self-value. Little Mix has a good collection of songs about empowering women. Not only does the song have a good beat but a good message too.



"About time that I let you know My ride and I assume control You blew it, baby, years ago Can't get with me, now I'm grown" - Little Mix, Grown

Nostalgic


Sometimes you just want to be in a music video. For many of us, the only way to accomplish this is shoving headphones in our ears and drawing out the people around us that are totally not supposed to be in your solo shot.

A song that will transport me to a far away place every single time I hear is is Answer : Love Myself by the Korean boy group BTS. This song was the last one that they performed when I saw them in concert during their Love Yourself Tour of 2018.




"You've shown me I have reasons I should love myself" - BTS, Answer : Love Myself

When I close my eyes during this song I see two things. The first is the arena from when they played it during the concert. Thousands of rainbow lights lighting up the space and thousands of Armys tearing up as they see the band they've devoted countless hours to supporting.

The other thing I see is the ending shot of a movie. When the conflict is finally over, the friends are lovers have been reunited and they can all walk off through the field and into the sunset. Then the shot pans up into the beautifully coloured sky and I can physically feel the happy ending in my chest.


Singing


We have all tried our hardest to hit that one note that really makes the whole song. I, for one, have tried many times, possibly actually succeeding sometimes.



"Before you go Was there something I could've said to make your heart beat better? If only I'd have known you had a storm to weather" - Lewis Capaldi, Before You Go

For me, and song by Lewis Capaldi is a good one to sing along to when you're by yourself driving down the highway and you don't notice the old man judging you just because you're totally feeling yourself as he passes you. My current favourite Lewis Capaldi song is his most recent: Before You Go. His music isn't the most uplifting option out there, but you'll feel damn good about yourself if you make through one of his songs without missing any notes.




50s


The 1950s was a time where any song you heard was no doubt about love. Likely about a girl named Penny, or Peggy, or Sue, or Peggy-Sue. The playlist at my grandparents' 50th anniversary party had everyone on their feet for the whole night. Even if the song is about a love that got away, when you listen to it you can still have a smile on your face as you bop or twirl around your living room.

My top pick from my 50s playlist is Dion and the Belmonts' Runaround Sue (I told you her name would come up).

A song about a cheating woman, you would think, would be sinister or hateful. As I mentioned above, this song is instead rather cheerful. You can bop along while listening to Dion warn you about staying away from "this girl's warm embrace".




"Here's the moral of the story from the guy who knows I feel in love and my love still grows Ask any fool that she ever knew, they'll say Ah, keep away from Runaround Sue" - Dion and the Belmonts, Runaround Sue


 

So yeah, to sum it up these are some songs that always put a smile on my face, end in my belting out an iffy note or get me bopping. Leave me a comment telling me about a song that brings out your feelings!

Comments


bottom of page